Monday, October 8

Thanks for nothing, Chris

I was so disappointed today.  As it was Columbus Day, or at least the official observance thereof, I was fully expecting that I’d have an easy time on the roads.  Sort of like the Jewish holidays in the past couple of weeks.  While not many private sector employers give their people a day off, schools and government offices are closed, and as I’ve noted it takes only a small percentage reduction in traffic to make a (very) big difference during rush hour.

During my morning trip to North Haven it certainly appeared as if my hopes would be realized.  Traffic was somewhat lighter than usual, and keep in mind I was traveling at a very early hour when few public sector workers would be on the road in any case (not too many government offices open much before 8:30 or 9).  When I left the worksite just before 3:00 I was eagerly anticipating a speedy trip home.  True, traffic was a bit sluggish when I merged onto I-95 from I-91 in downtown New Haven, but it cleared up in a mile or so and I dismissed the delay as a fluke.

What was most assuredly not a fluke was the seeming wall of traffic I encountered around Westport.  Traffic speeds went from 70 mph to at most 20 mph in the space of less than a quarter mile.  Still, I wasn’t too concerned at first, surely this must be a temporary thing due to a crash or something, right?  Wrong.  While there were a couple of semi-decent stretches, for the most part traffic was stop-and-go for the nearly 20 miles to the state line.  Time seemed to zip by on my car clock, 3:45, 4:00, 4:15, and so on.  Once I crossed the state line and the exit to I-287 things did get better, and traffic across the bridge and on Long Island was indeed lighter than usual, but the long crawl through Connecticut meant that my trip home took three hours, somewhat longer than on a normal day.  Some holiday treat …

Published in: on October 11, 2012 at 12:36 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/monday-october-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I visited various web sites except the audio quality for
    audio songs present at this site is in fact fabulous.


Leave a Reply

