Thursday, October 11 – Friday, October 12

Under the weather

Having felt lousy earlier in the week, I suppose the best term to describe these last two days of the week is ultra-lousy.  I actually think I’m getting the flu.  It’s funny, I was much better on Wednesday as compared to Monday and Tuesday, but had some sort of setback Wednesday night.  Driving into work on Thursday morning was an ordeal, though it didn’t take much more than the usual two hours.  My concerns about how I’d be able to make it through the day were alleviated when I managed to finish up the day’s assignments before noon and got an early start home.  It was an easy drive, being entirely pre-rush-hour, taking me about 2:15.  That’s got to be a record for the return trip from North Haven.

I was even worse on Friday.  There was some unexpectedly heavy traffic across the Throgs Neck Bridge and in Connecticut, so I arrived at the work site about 15 minutes late.  As it was our last day in North Haven I was hoping for a short day, but that was not to be … well, not quite, as by 1:00 I was in such bad shape the supervisor more or less insisted that I leave early.  Thank God.  I don’t know how I could have dealt with Friday afternoon rush hour traffic.  I made it home in about two and a half hours.  Now I have a weekend to try to regain my strength, and will be starting in Danbury on Monday.  Fortunately that’s a much more tolerable drive than the North Haven horror show.

Published in: on October 15, 2012 at 1:55 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/thursday-october-11-friday-october-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

