Monday, November 5 – Thursday, November 8

Braving the lines

I spent these four days working on a special project, related to storm recovery, at a customer’s location about 15 miles from me.  I could have gone back to the project in Connecticut, but that would have been most inadvisable (to say the least) because the gasoline shortage has gotten worse and worse.  By the time I got back from the worksite on Monday I was just above empty, and had no choice but to wait in a gas line.  For an hour and fifteen minutes.  Thankfully I was able to fill my car and would be set for the rest of the week, which most assuredly would not have been the case had I been going to Connecticut.

As for my shortened daily drive to work, it’s noteworthy mostly because I drive the length of the Sunken Meadow Parkway.  Except for the very short stretch connecting the Northern State Parkway with the Long Island Expressway, I’ve very seldom been on the Sunken Meadow, so for the first couple of days at least it was almost like driving on a road for the first time.  The gas lines, meanwhile, have just been getting worse and worse.  Cars in gas lines were impeding the flow of traffic on the narrow main street of the town in which my temporary worksite is located.  On Thursday, the state announced that odd-even gas rationing will start in Long Island on Friday.  Cars whose license plates end in odd numbers or in letters can get gas on odd-numbered days, while those with plates ending in even numbers (like mine) can get gas on even-numbered days.  New Jersey enacted this plan last weekend and from all reports it’s working very well.  It remains to be seen if it will do equally well here.

Published in: on November 9, 2012 at 9:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/monday-november-5-thursday-november-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

