Friday, November 9 – Sunday, November 11

Amazing.  It actually worked.

Gasoline rationing, that is.  Starting at 6 on Friday morning odd-even rationing began in Nassau and Suffolk counties and in the city.  A few hours later, I headed out to my one-day worksite in western Suffolk, curious to see how well rationing would work.  As my routing would be taking me down several busy commercial streets past many gas stations, I’d have a good opportunity to see for myself.  I’ll have to admit, I was quite cynical, notwithstanding the reports out of New Jersey which said that a similar rationing scheme was working well.

My cynicism proved entirely misplaced.  What I had figured is that rationing would at best cut the huge gas lines in half.  In fact, the lines at the open stations were barely lines at all, ten cars or fewer in every case.  And it wasn’t that the supply shortages had eased, as only about a third of the stations I passed were open. My best guess is that because people know the government is trying to do something about the gas situation, panic buying has lessened, and in turn the lines are almost gone.  Actually, that itself leads to a cynical conclusion itself, namely that the huge lines of the past week were mostly the product of human idiocy, namely in the guise of panic buying.

In any event, my workday went well, though on the drive home I had some concerns as to whether I’d have enough gas to make it.  What with my license plate ending in an even number I wouldn’t be able to get gas until Saturday.  But I made it home, and got gas on Saturday morning at an almost line-less station.   That’s about all I did all weekend, it was a very lazy time.  Next week I’ll be going to a different worksite each day, all in Nassau or Queens.  At least gas shouldn’t be an issue.

Published in: on November 14, 2012 at 12:43 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/friday-november-9-sunday-november-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!


Leave a Reply

