Wednesday, December 12 – Thursday, December 13

A low-key end to the assignment

My work assignment in Brooklyn and Queens is now over, I’ll be off for the rest of the year until resuming my regular work just after New Year’s.  Instead of rotating among eight worksites in two weeks, I’ll be back to spending three or four weeks at a single site.  I actually prefer doing what I’ve been doing for the past month and a half, and probably could make a permanent switch, but because it would mean less money it’s not really a workable option.

Wednesday’s assignment was in Inwood, near the airport.  When I went to Inwood about a month ago I encountered hideous traffic both coming and going.  Today, thankfully, there was almost none of that, possibly because I was careful to avoid the always-jammed Southern State Parkway.  I took the Long Island Expressway to the Cross Island Parkway, getting off at Merrick Boulevard, and then making my way to Brookville Boulevard. It took about 90 minutes in the morning and just slightly longer in the early afternoon.  Thursday I was in central Queens, not far off the Woodhaven Boulevard exit.  It was no trouble in the morning, but in the afternoon Expressway traffic was very sluggish all the way through Queens and a couple of miles into Nassau.  But hey, I wasn’t about to whine.

Now, of course, comes the hard part: keeping myself occupied for three weeks!

Published in: on December 16, 2012 at 11:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/12/16/wednesday-december-12-thursday-december-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

