Monday, January 7 – Wednesday, January 9

Some decent numbers

And so began the first of my three weeks off before I resume work on January 28.  This lengthy break, which began on December 14, is pretty much par for the course in my type of work, and salaries are set with the idea that it’s an 11-month work year.  So while money is not an issue, boredom … well, that’s another matter.  I managed to keep myself reasonably busy around the house for these three days, but there’s still quite a ways to go.  One thing I have done is read more of Languages of the World.  In so doing, I’ve come to realize that for all its quirks, English is a pretty straightforward language compared to many others: no noun declensions, relatively few irregular verbs, no noun gender except when obvious, little use of the subjunctive tense, and so on.  On a worse note, I contracted a particularly nasty computer virus on Tuesday night, that’s what happens when you don’t update your virus-protection software.  All I can say is that I’m lucky to be in the same household as a person who is knowledgeable about computers.  Otherwise I would’ve been the proverbial toast.

On Monday afternoon I went to the gym for some bench pressing.  It started out pretty good: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 2 x 8 x 225.  After I finished my second set at 225 I had to step outside for a few minutes to deal with an important phone call (phone reception in the gym is poor, thanks for nothing Verizon Wireless).  My plans had been to do a third set of eight at 225 and then do some cooldown sets at 185 and 135.  Unfortunately, in the few minutes I was on the phone my back somehow managed to tighten up, and I had to call a premature end to the session.

My back was still bothering me on Tuesday, so I stayed away from the gym.  It was good enough by Wednesday, however, that I went back, although in an unaccustomed move I did another bench press session.  Partly this was to make up for Monday’s truncated session, and partly it was because benching tends to be one of the easier exercises for a sore back.  Whatever the reason, I did very well: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 4 x 225, 4 x 235, 4 x 245, 3 x 255, 2 x 265, 1 x 275, 10 x 185.  Maybe I’m getting too far ahead of myself, but the Holy Grail of 300 pounds is not all that far off.

 

 

Published in: on January 10, 2013 at 3:19 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/monday-january-7-wednesday-january-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

