Monday, April 1 – Tuesday, April 2

The drive?  Not so bad.  The dentist?  So bad.

Monday marked not just April Fool’s Day, but the start of a month-long work assignment in western Suffolk County. I wasn’t sure how much traffic I’d encounter so I left the house at 5:50 in the morning.  That turned out to be way more time than necessary.  Traffic on the Sunrise Highway wasn’t bad, generally lighter than it would have been on the Long Island Expressway at the same time.  Even having to deal with several traffic lights on the Sunrise, which loses its status as a light-less, limited access highway about five miles short of the Nassau line, wasn’t that big of a deal.  Nor did it matter too much that the most direct route was unusable due to overpass construction.  I made it to the worksite about 6:40, not bad for a 30-mile trip that involves quite a bit of driving on regular streets as opposed to highways.  As the drive doesn’t involve any bridge crossings it lacks the element of uncertainty that is such an issue if I’m going to the Bronx or Westchester.  Not to mention no (obscene) tolls.

Getting home was no more troublesome than the morning had been.  There can be heavy traffic on the eastbound Sunrise during evening rush hours near the junction with the Southern State Parkway in East Islip, but one advantage of working a 7 to 3:30 schedule is that I can make it past that point before things get bad.  I went to the gym for a while to do some shoulder work, doing Hammer Strength MTS shoulder presses, 6 x 8 x 100/100.

Tuesday was another easy day in driving terms.  The morning trip was about 45 minutes, not counting a brief stop at 7-11, and the afternoon around the same.  What was not so easy was my 5 pm dentist appointment.  For reasons I don’t understand I required much more Novocaine than usual, and the dentist’s work took much longer than I expected.  By the time I got home I was completely worn out, and when the Novocaine wore off soon afterwards my mouth was quite sore.  There was no way I could have made it to the gym, not a chance.

Published in: on April 4, 2013 at 2:01 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/monday-april-1-tuesday-april-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from
    this site, and your views are nice designed for new
    viewers. Soon on twitter to grow your current enthusiasts swiftly.

    Soon
    Soon Lowest Prices Ideal Service.


Leave a Reply

