Thursday, April 11 – Friday, April 12

Relieving the pressure

Now that I’m taking a break from going to the gym until I find a new one at the end of this month, I’m experiencing what I can only describe as a relief from pressure.  It’s tough to articulate.  Here goes nothing: back when I was going to the gym on a more regular basis, I was under pressure to go every day whether I wanted to or not.  Pressure from within, of course – nobody was standing over me with a whip – but pressure nonetheless.  Or it might be described in the alternative as a tremendous sense of guilt that came over me when I didn’t go.  Terminology doesn’t really matter.  What counts is that going to the gym gradually became a duty rather than the pleasure it should have been.  This of course caused the quality of  my sessions, and what I got out of them, to deteriorate.  For example, in the last several months I did mostly bench pressing and other upper-body work, but almost entirely stopped doing deadlifts and squats.

All of which is a way of saying that taking what will amount to a month off should be of considerable therapeutic value, with the term being used primarily in a mental rather than physical sense.  When I start out at a new gym at the end of the month, as I’ve vowed to do, I’m hoping that I’ll be reinvigorated mentally, and most of all that I’ll look forward to going on a regular basis.  That’s the only real way it can work.  Treating it as a duty is a recipe for failure.

As for work, it’s been going well, I’ve now reached the halfway point of my 4-week stay at the current worksite.  The next site will be in the northeastern part of the Bronx.  I’d been there for a couple of days in January.  While there’ll be more driving, not to mention the Throgs Neck Bridge and its (obscene) tolls, I’ll be working 7-3 rather than 8-4 as I had been, so I should be able to miss the worst of the rush hour traffic.

Published in: on April 15, 2013 at 2:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/thursday-april-11-friday-april-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

