Saturday, April 27 – Sunday, April 28

It’s done.  I found a new gym.  It wasn’t the first one I had in mind, the one that used to be affiliated with the now-closing one, but the slightly closer gym.  On Sunday, I went there to check it out and was quite impressed with what I saw.  It is a former racquetball facility that was converted to a gym a few years ago.  Compared to the old gym – actually, there’s no comparison whatsoever.  Everything was clean and in good repair, brightly lit as compared to the dim lights at the old one.  It seemed reasonably hard-core, with a couple of squat racks, several bench press stations, dumbbells going up to 150 pounds, and no prohibition on deadlifting (I saw a person doing them).  Finally, the rates are comparable with the old gym and with the other new one I’d been considering.

I had a decent session, no heavy weights as I’m a bit out of practice.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 3 x 4 x 225, 8 x 185.  The pegs which hold the weight bars are of a different design than at the old gym, so it was slightly awkward at first, but I’ll adjust.  Life Fitness plate-loaded shoulder press: 4 x 8 x 70/70.  EZ curls: 3 x 10 x 50 (okay, a light weight, but I’ve got to start somewhere).  Cable pushdowns: 4 x 8 x 57.5.  All in all, it went well, and I’m sure I’ll be happy with this gym.

Published in: on May 1, 2013 at 12:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/saturday-april-27-sunday-april-28/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

