Monday, May 6 – Tuesday, May 7

All over the place

Monday was an interesting day in driving terms, to say the least.  My worksite for the day was (supposed to be) in the eastern Suffolk community that I had dubbed Range Rover Territory back in my old, unlamented life insurance days.  As I drove there on the Sunrise Highway I mused about how the whole nature of my worklife has changed since those days.  The previous times I had driven to Range Rover Territory for work-related purposes I had no idea whether I’d actually be making any money for my efforts.  Such are the vicissitudes of working on straight commission.  Today, I knew that no matter what, I’d be getting paid for my time.  It is difficult to understand the magnitude of this difference unless you have worked on straight commission.

The drive was easy enough, except for some traffic when Sunrise Highway turns into a ordinary, traffic-lighted road after the Shinnecock Canal.  Shortly after I got to the worksite, however, I found out that due to circumstances beyond my control I’d have to leave and go to a different site, this one being quite some distance away in central Nassau.  In fact it was at least a 50-mile drive, fortunately the peak of rush hour had passed and I made the drive in less than an hour.  My work at the new site went well, and I was able to leave just early enough to beat rush hour on my way home.

Tuesday I worked in central Brooklyn.  One thing about that part of the borough is that it’s a long way from the nearest actual highway.  Geographers describe a huge square of land centered on the Oklahoma Panhandle as the largest swath of the continental United States that is not served by any Interstate Highways.   While that may be true if “largest” is defined in terms of square mileage, in population terms the central part of Brooklyn is likely the biggest un-highway’ed area.

Getting to the worksite was not easy, with heavy traffic on the Long Island Expressway, culminating in an awkward route to get onto the Jackie Robinson Parkway.  Also known as the road whose neighbors will never complain about traffic noise, as most of them are dead (the Parkway runs past several cemeteries).  I then had a lengthy drive on surface streets to get to the worksite, and of course it seemed as if all of the ten thousand traffic lights were red.  Getting home was somewhat easier, if no piece of cake, as I was just ahead of the worst of rush hour traffic.

Published in: on May 10, 2013 at 1:59 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/05/10/monday-may-6-tuesday-may-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

