Thursday, May 16 – Sunday, May 19

Well those will be amusing hours

Thursday was not one of my better workdays.  It was close to home, no more than a 15-minute drive away, so I suppose that was a good thing, but the rest of the day left much to be desired.  It wasn’t due to anything on my part, instead it had to do with the particular workplace.  Fortunately, it’s unlikely I’ll be returning there anytime soon, so I guess that’s another good thing.

Friday was a day off, which gave me the chance to do some much needed yardwork.  Grass in the back yard had reached a height that was almost beyond the lawnmower’s capabilities and would oblige me to rent a herd of goats.  Not being exactly sure where goat rentals are available, I doubt the Tool Rental department at Home Depot would have been much help, I was pleased to find out that yes, the mower was able to handle the task.

Also on Friday, I got my assignments for the upcoming week, and suffice to say they came as a surprise.  The first two of them, at least.  I’ll be working at two different worksites in Manhattan on Monday and Tuesday.  Monday’s worksite is in lower Manhattan, Tuesday’s in Midtown toward the West Side.  While the sites may be different, what is the same is that I’ll have to report to each one at the same time … 4:45 am.  Ugh.  Even with the light traffic I should encounter I’ll have to leave the house at 3:00 am.  Double ugh.  I suppose the best way to deal with these ghastly hours is to think of it as shift work.  Which it really is, I suppose, and of course it’s just for two days.  On Wednesday I won’t have to leave the house until the more civilized hour of 6:00 am, and Thursday and Friday will be even better as I won’t have to leave until 6:45.  Yay.

I didn’t do much of anything on the weekend, rainy weather prevented me from finishing the yardwork.  On Sunday I bought and cooked a large trout, enough for everyone, so I guess that counts as some sort of accomplishment.

Published in: on May 20, 2013 at 10:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/thursday-may-16-sunday-may-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

