Monday, June 3 – Tuesday, June 4

A welcome change

Working close to home is not something I’ve normally experienced.  Years ago when I lived in Connecticut I was about 45 minutes away from my job.  When I commuted to Manhattan for so many years I normally had to travel at least 90 minutes to two hours each way.  While my present job involves going to many different worksites, a common theme is that most of them are relatively far away (the most extreme, of course, having been North Haven, Connecticut and its 125-mile trip each way).

Monday began a 3-week assignment at a worksite that is literally just five minutes away.  It is nice not having to worry about getting up early in order to beat the traffic, or for that matter having to worry during the day about traffic on the ride home.  On Tuesday, I actually went home for lunch, something I’ve so rarely done in my working career that I cannot remember the last time it ever happened.  And it should go without saying that the savings in gasoline are appreciated, even though I get paid for travel time there’s still a lag between the fuel expenditures and the receipt of payment.

I had a pretty good gym session in the early evening on Tuesday.  For the first time in way too long I did some lower-body work. I didn’t do any squats, which probably was a mistake, however I did some 45-degree leg presses with a respectable amount of weight: 10 x 270, 10 x 320, 10 x 360, 10 x 410, 10 x 460.  Then came an old favorite, namely SLDL’s: 8 x 155, 8 x 165, 8 x 175.

Published in: on June 7, 2013 at 1:59 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/06/07/monday-june-3-wednesday-june-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

