Monday, July 15

So much for my gym plans

Monday. Leg Day at the gym.  At least, I thought it was going to be leg day.  After an easy enough drive to Mount Vernon I found out that a family member was stranded with car trouble all the out in Montauk.  For the geographically uninitiated, that’s at the extreme eastern tip of Long Island, 60 miles east of me and over 100 miles from the Throgs Neck Bridge.

I have no desire to rehash the details, but suffice to say that the gym wasn’t an option.  I left work later than usual, enough to hit heavy traffic, so by the time I made it to Montauk after a couple stops along the way it was almost 8 pm.  Another thing I’ll add is that attempting to tow a disabled car using tow straps is much easier said than done.  I was a bit concerned because the car I was towing, a Volkswagen, was only slightly lighter than my Subaru.  Yet my car performed well, even on the surprisingly steep hills coming out of Montauk.

We actually made it about 15 miles, about to Bridgehampton, when a car pulled out in front of me, forcing me to brake quickly.  This caused the tow strap to go slack, so that it went under the tire of either my car or the disabled car, which in turn caused it to snap.  That was the end of my impromptu towing idea, at least the progress we had made reduced the cost of the regular tow that was needed.

I ended up making it home around 11:30 pm, more than 18 hours after I’d left the house in the morning.  It was a long day.

Published in: on July 18, 2013 at 3:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/monday-july-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

