Tuesday, July 16

What a difference an hour makes

My normal work hours are from 7 am to 3 pm, though on most days I finish up around 2:30 or so.  Today, however, some last-minute tasks kept me at work until 4.  And believe me when I say that extra hour made a huge difference.

It took me an excruciating two and a half hours to cover the 60-mile trip from Mount Vernon. To put things into perspective, that’s almost 90 minutes longer than it took to get to the worksite in the morning.  At first I thought things would be okay, as I got over the Throgs Neck Bridge with no trouble and even the Cross Island Parkway wasn’t too bad.  Once I got on the Long Island Expressway, however, it was a complete disaster.  Traffic was stop-and-go much of the way, and I was left wondering exactly what happened to the summer’s supposedly lighter traffic volumes.  By the time I finally made it home, it goes without saying that I was too mentally and physically drained to even think of the gym.

Published in: on July 19, 2013 at 2:24 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/07/19/tuesday-july-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

