Wednesday, July 24 – Thursday, July 25

It takes a lot to make me miss hot yoga

Being a creature of habit, at least to some extent, I have come to regard my Wednesday evening hot yoga as a major weekly event.  As soon as a session’s over I’m looking forward to the next one.  For me to miss a session, well that’s well-nigh unthinkable.

You can see where this is going.  After yet another easy trip into work on Wednesday, the workday itself presented one more seemingly endless task after another.  At first I wasn’t too concerned about making it to yoga.  The session is in Sayville, about ten minutes from me, and starts at 6 pm.  I had to stop home first, and like to get to the studio at least ten minutes early.  Still, as long as I left by my normal quitting time of 3 it should be no problem.

It was just after 3:30 when I finally got on the road.  I still hadn’t given up hope of making it to yoga, if traffic weren’t too bad there would be a chance.  Of course it didn’t turn out that way.  It took me two hours to get home, and while in theory I could have made it to yoga had I really hustled, that wasn’t a very appealing option.  Rushing into a yoga session is not advisable.  It’s much better to arrive a bit in advance and get physically and mentally – mostly mentally – prepared.  For a while I thought that maybe I’d go to a later session at 8, even though that would have a different instructor, but I soon lost whatever energy I still had.  So much for Wednesday’s yoga.

Thursday was just plain perplexing.  On Monday, I had left work right on schedule at 3 and had a very easy trip home.  Thursday should be the same, right?  It’s not like it was a Friday, when there’d be people getting away for the weekend.  Monday, Thursday, they’re much the same.  Of course, that’s not what happened at all.  Traffic was excruciatingly slow much of the way, with the return trip taking close to two and a half hours.  I was so worn out when I arrived that going to the gym just wasn’t an option.  This means four days in a row with no gym and no yoga, something that had better change.

Published in: on July 28, 2013 at 4:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/wednesday-july-24-thursday-july-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

