Wednesday, August 14 – Friday, August 16

The characters you meet

Wednesday was one of my easier workdays in quite a long time.   I headed east about 15 miles, to the county-seat town, which had been a regular part of my territory back when I was enmeshed in the life insurance scam.  Today I was able to work under much more pleasant conditions, though to be sure almost all working conditions are vastly better than trying to peddle life insurance to reluctant people while on straight commission.   After two years I’m still angry with myself for having stuck with that scam as long as I did.

On a much brighter note, I was finished with the day’s work by noon.  With ample time to spare before my hot yoga session, I drove to western Suffolk County, Lindenhurst to be specific, to look for a part for a family member’s car.  It was a very simple part, the assembly for a front turn signal, but of course the dealer wanted some absurd price.  As of a couple days ago a  junkyard near the center of town had a couple of VW Jettas on the lot, but naturally enough both were gone by the time I arrived.  Fortunately, there were four other junkyards in very close proximity, and I found the part at the fourth one.

Looking for car parts at junkyards is an unusual shopping experience.  You never know if you’ll get what you need until you actually go to the junkyard and ask, as what they tell you on the phone is never quite reliable (as I saw), and you definitely get to meet some “interesting” characters.  And prices do tend to be much cheaper than what auto parts stores and especially dealers charge, even if the terrific bargains of past years aren’t quite as terrific anymore.  Whatever the case, it was a worthwhile trip, and later on I had a fairly good hot yoga session despite having missed a week.

Thursday was a lengthier workday, though nothing like last week’s marathon sessions.  It was at the same convenient location where I’d been last Friday.  For some reason I was extremely exhausted when I got home, so much so that I decided to skip the gym.  We did make an early evening trip to Whole Foods, where I’m pleased to report that the free-sample selection was pretty extensive.

Friday was a day off from work.  In the early afternoon we went to Costco, and nothing happened to change my bemusement at all the hype that store receives.  I mean, really, the way people gush about how it’s the best shopping experience you’ll ever have.  On the way back we stopped at Pizza Hut, which seems to have gotten a bit more upscale in the several years since I’ve last been inside.  The “meat lovers” medium-sized ‘za was quite good and a definite bargain.

Quite late on Friday evening I went to the gym for some bench presses.  It wasn’t a particularly good session: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 3 x 4 x 225, 8 x 185.

Published in: on August 18, 2013 at 1:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/wednesday-august-14-friday-august-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

