Saturday, August 31 – Monday, September 2

I’ve never quite figured out why Labor Day is supposed to be the end of summer.  Leaving aside the whole equinox thing, in most parts of the country the first week of September does not particularly correspond with the end of summer-like weather or the first chill in the air.  In the New York area, which obviously I know best, I would say that summer in its climatological sense lingers until about the 15th of September.  Many parts of the country, of course, have summer weather much longer. Yet we’ve decided that Labor Day is the big summer/not-summer dividing line.  Weird.

In any event, I made it to the gym twice during these three days.  On Saturday, I continued with the dips I had started the day before, doing 4 x 10 x bodyweight.  It wasn’t possible to add any weight because the belt used for doing so was in use elsewhere.  I also did my usual medicine ball exercise, 6 x 10 with the 20-pound ball.  On Monday, with the gym closing early for Labor Day, it was absolutely jammed and most things were taken.  I was able to use the Hoist moving-seat row machine that I’ve been using, and did 6 x 8 at level 16 of 18.

Published in: on September 3, 2013 at 2:55 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/saturday-august-31-monday-august-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

