Monday, September 30 – Tuesday, October 1

$178?  Impossible!  No, possible

Later in October I’ll be going to visit my mother in Florida for a few days.  My plans are to leave on Thursday the 17th and return the following Monday the 21st.  I was looking around online for a decent fare, especially from nearby Islip airport on Southwest Airlines, but they all seemed to be rather high. Southwest’s reputation for low fares is usually but not always accurate.  In any event, just as I was becoming resigned to pay more than I really wanted, I decided to check out Spirit Airlines.  They’re a rapidly growing discount carrier, and though they fly out of LaGuardia Airport which isn’t quite as convenient, I figured my savings might make it worthwhile.

To my extreme surprise I was able to find a round-trip from LaGuardia to Ft. Lauderdale for the ridiculously low price of $178.  When I saw the price I figured it must have been a mistake, and that was the one-way fare (that’s about how much a one-way on Southwest would’ve been).  No mistake.  $178 is for the round-trip, and yes it includes all the taxes and fees.  I can’t believe my good fortune.

Work was easy enough both of these days.  The worksites were to the north, so I drove against the main flow of traffic.  I don’t mind driving in general, it tends to be a good way of clearing one’s mind, but dealing with rush hour nonsense is a highly effective mood-killer.  None of that for me either day.  I got some details about upcoming assignments, nothing surprising, although the extra-work project I had hoped to begin right about now probably won’t get underway for another week or two.

Gym: I went relatively early in the evening on Monday, and to say it was crowded would be a massive understatement.  Mondays are always the busiest days at most gyms, and today at Unique Fitness was definitely no exception.  I wanted to do weighted dips, but the weight belt was nowhere to be seen and I had to settle for the bodyweight version: 5 x 10 x bodyweight, 7 x bodyweight.  I’d been planning doing six sets of ten, but on the last set I somehow lost it completely after seven reps.

 

 

 

Published in: on October 3, 2013 at 3:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/monday-september-30-tuesday-october-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

