Monday, October 7 – Tuesday, October 8

Back to deadlifting!

There isn’t much to report about work either day.  On Monday I had to deal with some morning rush hour traffic on the Long Island Expressway, while on Tuesday it was the Sunrise Highway’s turn,  As much as I enjoy complaining about rush hour traffic, neither day was sufficiently bad for me to make much of a fuss.  I don’t miss the days last year when I was driving to Westchester or Connecticut each day and having to deal with all sorts of rush hour comedy.  Though I do miss the ample travel pay I had gotten …

My tasks for the next two-week cycle are pretty easy.  So easy, in fact, that on both days I was finished with them hours before I was able to leave the worksite.  I suppose I could have worked more slowly, but I find that difficult to do.  Anyway, I always can find other tasks that need to be done even though they’re not the priority must-complete ones.

I made up for the weekend’s lack of gym-going by having a long session on Monday evening.  After having found deadlifting on the cable machine too unchallenging, I started out the old-fashioned way with trap bar deadlifts.  These were plenty challenging, especially as I used the side of the trap bar that does not have raised lifting handles and therefore experienced a longer range of motion.  I did 24 total reps, which is plenty on such a tough exercise: 6 x 235, 6 x 255, 6 x 275, 6 x 295.  How I made it through the last set I do not know.  Next came rows on the cable machine, 4 x 8 with each arm.  For the first set I used resistance level 12 out of 16, and on the other three used level 11 like I did last time.  My immediate goal is to work up to level 12 for all sets.  To finish the session I did 5 x 10 of my medicine ball exercise, using as usual the 20-pound ball.

 

Published in: on October 10, 2013 at 3:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/monday-october-7-tuesday-october-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

