Monday, November 18 – Tuesday, November 19

Normal is nice

It was a very great pleasure to be back to something approaching normal.  Note the use of the word “approaching.”  On Monday, I’d say that I was about 80% my usual self, rising to 85% to 90% on Tuesday.  Had these been busy and/or long workdays it would have been a bit of a struggle, especially on Monday, fortunately things were fairly light.

That’s actually going to be the case until after the beginning of next year. My job has an element of seasonality, with things getting quiet in November and December, only to pick up significantly after New Year’s Day.  I will be off completely next week, the week of Thanksgiving, go back for two weeks, and then have three whole weeks off.  Fortunately, I have enough outside work secured that the financial hit shouldn’t be too bad.  It’s not an ideal situation, but it’s something I knew about before going into this line of work.  And hey, it’s vastly superior to peddling life insurance on straight commission (which isn’t saying much).

Going to the gym on Monday wasn’t really an option.  I could have maybe had a very light session, but nothing worthwhile.  As I was closer to normal on Tuesday I did ponder the gym issue before deciding to wait a bit longer.  My main concern was that I really wanted to go to hot yoga on Wednesday, and did not want to risk wearing myself out at the gym.  When I do return I’m debating trying a completely different sort of routine for a while, just to mix things up and avoid staleness.

Published in: on November 21, 2013 at 2:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/monday-november-18-tuesday-november-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

