Saturday, November 23 – Sunday, November 24

A very quiet weekend, one which also marked the start of a long weekend, as I’m off next week.  How I’ll manage to occupy myself, I haven’t a clue.  Okay, preparations for Thanksgiving dinner (which we’ll be having on Wednesday due to work schedules) will take up some time, but still.  One thing I’m doing is reading a new book on my phone’s Kindle app, Decoding the Heavens.  It’s about the Antikythera Mechanism, a geared clock-like mechanism found in a Mediterranean shipwreck.  What is most perplexing is that the Mechanism is 2,000 years old, and nothing else approaching its mechanical sophistication appeared for another thousand-plus years.  So far it’s a pretty good story.

I didn’t go to the gym on Saturday, but on Sunday I had another weight-loss session, this time doing 30 minutes on the stationary cycle at a fast pace.  Some of the cycles in the gym have  a TV screen on which you can see a roadway unfolding ahead of you like on a real bicycle.  Unfortunately, those cycles also have very small, hard seats on which it’s sheer misery to sit.  I’ll stick with an ordinary TV monitor, thank you very much.  Later on Sunday I braved the cold to go to a Buddhist meditation session.

Published in: on November 28, 2013 at 3:19 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/11/28/saturday-november-23-sunday-november-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

