Monday, December 9 – Wednesday, December 11

Last week, starting anew, and ouch

As I headed into work Monday morning it was for the last week of work prior to my 3-week Christmas break.  Not that “break” is an ideal choice of terminology, as it usually denotes something good.  The fact that I won’t be getting paid for this 3-week period means that by definition, it is not good.  I suppose I shouldn’t complain too much, as I knew about this time off long in advance, it is something commonplace in my line of work, and in any event I’m picking up some other work so I’ll still be making money.

Monday and Tuesday were run-of-the-mill workdays, not tough by any stretch of the imagination but not easy either.  Monday’s worksite was near Exit 57 on the Long Island Expressway while Tuesday’s was off the Sunrise Highway.  Traffic was no trouble either day, and in fact it seems to be somewhat lighter than it had been before Thanksgiving or thereabouts.  Most likely because people are using up accumulated vacation days before the end of the year.  Wednesday was one of those days when I got a last-minute call sending me to a different worksite than the one originally scheduled, which worked out fine because the new site was conveniently close by and my tasks were pretty easy.

On Wednesday evening I headed off to my new second job, which once training is over should be around 15 to 20 hours per week.  There isn’t much I can say about it, because I spent nearly the entire 4-hour shift doing web-based training.  There’s about 15 hours of this sort of training that I’ll have to complete, and then I’ll be doing on-the-job training with an experienced person for a few weeks.  All paid, of course.  I was actually surprised that I have to go through all this training, given the new job’s similarity to my existing one, but those are the rules.

I went to the gym on Tuesday for some bench pressing, unfortunately the session came to an end before I could do any additional exercises, as my left shoulder began to hurt. A lot.  I’ve been going to the gym long enough to know the difference between (a) keep-working-through-it pain and (b) stop-the-session pain, and this was (b).  I wasn’t about to risk injury by doing more stuff.  In any event, the benching was decent enough, if not awe-inspiring: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 4 x 225, 3 x 2 x 225, 6 x 185.

Published in: on December 14, 2013 at 2:57 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/12/14/monday-december-9-wednesday-december-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

