Monday, December 16 – Wednesday, December 18

Well that was scary

On Monday I did a 4-hour midday shift at my new second job at the Well-Known Home Improvement Retailer.  It took me about 90 minutes to finish my online training, which presented a bit of a problem.  Because I had been expected to have taken longer, the person with whom I’m going to be doing a few weeks of on-the-job training had not been scheduled for the same shift.  After a bit of orientation work, my manager said that the best thing for me to do for the remaining two hours was to walk around the sales floor and help people as needed.

This was a scary proposition.  While I know where all the various departments are located, I don’t always know what products are located in what departments.  It’s not always obvious: for example, are kitchen faucets in Plumbing or in Kitchen and Bath?  Are adhesives in Paint or Hardware?  (The answers, by the way. are Kitchen and Bath, and Paint).  What’s more, given the nature of this retailer, many of the customers aren’t sure exactly what they need and look to the salespeople for help.  I somehow made it through the two hours without looking too clueless.  My next days are Saturday and Sunday, though both days I’ll be helping out with some relatively basic tasks in a different department.

Tuesday was a fairly dull day, with no work scheduled.  I’d like to say that I made productive use of the day, but of course I didn’t, and spent most of it in mindless web surfing.  Wednesday was pretty much a repeat.  On the other hand, I had a very good gym session on Tuesday.  I did a lot of neutral grip pull-ups, though not all at once: 1 x 5, 3 x 4, 3 x 3, 2 x 2, for a total of 30.  Nice.  I also did Hammer Strength shoulder presses, 4 x 8 x 110/110, and machine flies, 3 x 6 at resistance level 10 of 16.  The only disappointment was that I didn’t get to do bench presses, as both of the flat bench stations were occupied the whole time.

Wednesday was hot yoga, for the first time in two weeks.  Most likely because of the holiday season it wasn’t too crowded, about 15 people as compared to the usual 25 to 30.  There was a different instructor, too. She recently started work, doing the more advanced sessions, but had decided to do a less advanced one just to keep her skills fresh.  We did a number of poses that weren’t on the usual schedule.  We also mixed up standing and sitting/lying poses, in contrast to the usual way in which the first 45 minutes are all standing and the second 45 sitting and lying.  She also was a bit more into the spiritual and meditative side of yoga than the usual instructor, but I didn’t mind.  All in all, it was a very good session.

Published in: on December 20, 2013 at 12:08 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2013/12/20/monday-december-16-wednesday-december-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

