Monday, December 30 – Tuesday, December 31

An unorthodox celebration

Monday was another workday at the Major Home Improvement Center, and as it turned out it was a good thing that I’ve been going through “product knowledge” training.  For most of the afternoon and evening I was the sole employee working the lumber and building materials departments.  From time to time another person would help me, and there always was someone I could call upon for assistance if needed, but for the most part it was just me. Fortunately, the departments weren’t too busy, and most of the customers seemed to be contractors who knew what they wanted and didn’t need any help.  That would be different on weekends.
It also turned out that my training in operating the power saw came in very handy.  About a half-hour before closing time a couple of people came in with a big cutting order.  Several 4×4 timbers had to be cut into precise 18-inch pieces, with the cut ends perfectly level.  It all required careful measuring in addition to cutting.  Another worker helped me, we traded off measuring and cutting tasks, though we didn’t get finished until ten minutes after normal closing time.

I worked for just a few hours on Tuesday afternoon, as the store was closing early for New Year’s Eve.  It wasn’t crowded, as you might expect, and I was able to take advantage of the lull to do online training.  There’s still quite a ways to go.  As for celebrating New Year’s Eve, I did something rather unusual – I went to the headquarters of the Buddhist meditation center in Huntington and participated in a 90-minute group meditation and learning session.  There had to be at least 50 people present, a full house in the relatively small meditation room, and I am very glad I went.

Published in: on January 3, 2014 at 6:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/monday-december-30-tuesday-december-31/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

