Wednesday, January 1 – Friday, January 3

It wasn’t *really* a resolution

One thing that every regular gym-goer knows about (and not in a good way) is the New Year’s resolution crowd.  They’re the people who flock into gyms right after New Year’s Day because they’ve resolved that this year for sure they’re going to get into shape and stop being so lazy.  Of course most are gone by March at the latest, but they do make for crowded gyms at the start of the year.
I guess you could say that to some extent I was a representative of this unloved group, because in the late afternoon of New Year’s Day I made it to the gym after weeks of poor attendance and actually had a good session.  To start with, I knocked off 36 neutral grip pull-ups, as follows: 1 x 6, 1 x 5, 3 x 4, 3 x 3, 2 x 2.  Next came machine flies, 5 x 6 at resistance level 11 of 18, and I finished with Hammer Strength shoulder presses, 4 x 8 at 110/110.  By the way, the gym wasn’t unusually crowded, but since it was New Year’s Day that might be expecting too much of the resolution crowd.

Thursday was a much lazier day.  Not entirely out of choice, as during the previous day’s long gym session I had wrenched a muscle in my left arm and it was way too painful for me to even think about the gym.  Even doing leg exercises seemed very unappealing.  Fortunately my arm was better on Friday, as after the night’s snowstorm I had quite a bit of shoveling to do.

The shoveling done, I went into the Major Home Improvement Retailer on Friday afternoon for a 4-hour shift. My plan was to hit the gym for a short session after work, concentrating on legs because I wanted to give my left arm some healing time.  You can guess what happened to those plans.  I had a huge order to assemble and package, most of it consisting of very heavy items, and my four-hour shift ended up being five hours and change.  By the time I was done I was way too exhausted for any sort of exercise.  Hey, there’s always another day.

 

 

Published in: on January 6, 2014 at 3:57 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/wednesday-january-1-friday-january-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I actually used to break up the pullups between sets of other exercises. Either way it’s a great exercise.

    You’re right about the New Year’s crowd, but NY/LI gyms also gets that big summer crowd of people pumping up or slimming down for the beach and tank tops. I always found July to be as crowded and January.

    Last week I started the 5×5 program with squats, dl’s and bench, 3x week. Going to stick to it for 8 weeks and see how it goes and then change it up and try another program for some time.

    Good luck in 2014.

  2. I’ve had good results with 5×5 in the past. Maybe I’ll get back to it for a while.


Leave a Reply

