Monday, January 6 – Tuesday, January 7

It wasn’t so hard getting back

After the three-week Christmas break I headed back to my main job on Monday morning.  Now that I have the second job at the Major Home Improvement Retailer I have to be more specific.  Although there had been some discussion before the break about changing the daily start time to 7am from 8am, nothing was done.  As the worksite was near Exit 57 on the Expressway, I ran into some rush hour traffic along the way. Not that it really mattered, as the slowdown was for only a couple miles and didn’t delay me too much, and in any event there would have been just as much traffic had I been heading in an hour earlier.

Being off for three weeks didn’t affect my performance in any way.  I jumped right back into the swing of things, so to speak, and handled what was a heavy volume of work with no trouble.  As to comparing this work to what I do at the second job, about all I can say is that neither one is easier or harder than the other, they’re just different.  Probably a good thing on balance.  I didn’t finish up until almost 4, about a half-hour later than usual, but that was more of a one-time thing.

I stopped off briefly at home after work and decided to go to hot yoga.  Normally I go on Wednesdays, but I decided to try something different.  In any event, I knew full well that the gym would be a madhouse given that it was the first Monday after New Year’s.  What I didn’t know was that yoga would be packed too.  There were about 35 people in the session, filling the room to capacity with mats almost on top of one another.  I’ve no doubt that all the bodies made the room even hotter than it normally would have been.  I had a decent session, my flexibility and stamina have declined only a little in the last couple of yoga-less weeks.  The studio’s owner taught the session, and she’s always very encouraging.

Tuesday’s worksite was off the Sunrise Highway.  To my pleasant surprise there wasn’t as much traffic as usual getting to the location.  Work itself went fairly easy, even though I had more stuff to do than on Monday I finished almost an hour earlier … maybe I still was a bit rusty on Monday after all.  Later on, I went to the gym, and even though it was packed one of the bench press stations was free.  My left arm is still a bit achy, so I kept the benching light: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 6 x 205, 4 x 4 x 225.

Published in: on January 9, 2014 at 3:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/monday-january-6-tuesday-january-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

