Monday, January 13 – Tuesday, January 14

Getting into the swing of things

Work went pretty easy on both of these days.  I was doing the same tasks as I had done last week, but was able to complete them in substantially shorter time.  It’s a matter of practice makes perfect.  Having done these tasks four times last week, I’m now into the swing of them, so to speak, and am able to work more quickly and efficiently.  I’d say it’s the learning curve, but I hate buzzwords (or buzz expressions) like that.  Now next week I’ll start a new two-week cycle of doing a new set of tasks, and I would imagine there’ll be a similar speed increase as the cycle goes on.

My elbow was much improved on Monday, enough so that I decided to go to yoga.  While there were still a few motions that hurt, such as rotating my hand like with turning a doorknob, yoga doesn’t really involve motions of that type.  I’m glad I went, as it was a very good session.  Like last week, the room was packed to the gills and very hot.  I made it through the entire session without having to rest, and my balance and flexibility definitely were better than last week.  Balance especially.  The center’s owner usually teaches this session but was unavailable, however her substitute was really good.

On Tuesday evening I went to the gym, but although my elbow was almost pain-free I decided to play it safe and stick with lower-body work.  I was so cautious, in fact, that I decided against doing squats because they do involve the arms. Instead I did a machine-based session, not ideal but better than not going at all.  I started with leg presses on my usual moveable-seat machine: 8 x 370, 8 x 390, 8 x 410, 8 x 430, 8 x 450, 8 x 470.  I’m just 20 pounds away from the machine’s maximum weight.  Next I used a machine for the first time, another Hoist brand moveable-seat machine, this time for seated leg curls. I did 5 x 8  at resistance level 10 of 18.  Yeah, I know, that’s not much weight, but I had to get used to it.  To finish the session I did standing calf raises, 4 x 10 x 250.

Published in: on January 15, 2014 at 3:57 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/monday-january-13-tuesday-january-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

