Saturday, January 11 – Sunday, January 12

When I got that weird sensation in my left elbow on Friday I knew that it would really hurt within 24 hours.  That actually proved to be off by a factor of two, as within 12 hours, in other words early on Saturday morning, it had a stabbing-with-sharp-knives sensation that was impossible to ignore.  And, naturally enough, I had to go into work at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  As I drove there – even driving was almost unbearably painful – I was hoping against hope that I wouldn’t have to do all sorts of heavy lifting like I’d done on Thursday. One disadvantage of being new on the job is that I don’t have the option of saying that I physically can’t do something. I’d just have to bear the pain somehow.

My lucky stars must’ve been aligned just so, because I didn’t have to do much heavy lifting at all.  At one point I had to move a storm door that weighed maybe 100 pounds onto a cart, but with a little ingenuity I figured out a way of doing so while using just my right arm.  For the rest of my shift I did much lighter work, including some computer training and data entry.  Though I have to say that even typing with my left hand caused a fair degree of elbow pain.

Sunday was a very inactive day except for a trip to the supermarket.  My elbow didn’t hurt nearly as much as the day before, but I had no desire to go to the gym.  Normally I go to the Buddhist meditation on Sunday evenings, but it wasn’t being held tonight.

Published in: on January 15, 2014 at 3:38 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/saturday-january-11-sunday-january-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

