Saturday, January 25 – Sunday, January 26

Saturday was a nine-hour day at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  It was also my last day working under supervision, the person training me let me take the lead on everything and just checked with me every so often to see how I was doing.  As he was doing other things as well, most of the time I was on my own.  It all worked out fine and I’m now fully qualified to go solo.  Although I was quite busy for most of the shift I was able to get some online training done.  This is an ongoing process for all employees.  I have about three hours of online work to complete by the middle of February, though then of course there’ll be more things added.

Sunday marked my triumphant (so to speak) return to the gym in way too long.  As my injured left elbow is mostly but not completely pain-free, I decided to concentrate on leg work for this session.  Yes, I did all machine stuff.  I started out with the moveable-seat leg press that I’ve been using: 8 x 410, 8 x 430, 8 x 450, 8 x 470, 8 x 490.  The last set at 490 is especially significant as it’s the machine’s maximum weight.  Yay.  Next came seated leg curls on a Life Fitness machine, 4 x 8 x 160.  To end the session, I did standing calf raises, 5 x 8 x 270.

Later in the evening I went to the Buddhist meditation session.  It’s very hard, maybe impossible, to put into words, but my state of consciousness changes, somehow, during meditation.  For this to happen to a skeptical sort like me is pretty amazing.

Published in: on January 30, 2014 at 2:44 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/saturday-january-25-sunday-january-26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

