Saturday, February 1 – Sunday, February 2

Call it The World’s Shortest Bench Press Session.  I didn’t go to the gym on Saturday, as I had other things to do.  In the process, I managed to re-injure, if only slightly, my troublesome left elbow.  Still, I didn’t think it would be a problem.  Famous last words.

Sunday I had a 5-hour shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  It was definitely a busy shift, but there wasn’t much heavy lifting involved and I sort of forgot about my elbow woes.  In the mid-afternoon, after my shift, I headed off to the gym with the intention of doing some bench presses. As usual, I started with 135 pounds as a warmup.  I got into position, lifted the bar an inch or two off the rack … and immediately replaced it.  There was such a burst of pain in my elbow that I knew bench pressing, indeed any arm exercises, were strictly off-limits.  I’m going to have to wait quite a while to let my elbow fully heal.

With benching and indeed any upper-body work being inadvisable, I resigned myself to more leg work.  Okay, “resigned” is a bad choice of word, as leg work is important yet often neglected.  Squats are the best form of lower-body exercise, but there’s enough arm involvement, in stabilizing the bar, that I didn’t want to risk doing them.  Unique Fitness doesn’t have the device known as a safety squat bar that allows squatting without arm involvement.

I instead used a plate-loaded squat machine, better than nothing but a pale imitation of the real thing: 10 x 360, 3 x 10 x 450.  Like I could ever put up those numbers with real squats.  Next came some Life Fitness seated leg curls, 8 x 175, 3 x 8 x 160.  I then did some Life Fitness leg extensions, 3 x 8 x 175.  To finish the session I did standing calf raises, 3 x 10 x 290.

Published in: on February 5, 2014 at 3:02 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/saturday-february-1-sunday-february-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

