Thursday, February 13 – Friday, February 14

Snow day!

Around 5:30 in the morning on Thursday I got a text notifying me that the day’s work assignment would be cancelled on account of the snow and that I’d be working on Friday instead.  Based on the conditions, with about eight inches of new snow, I probably wouldn’t have had any trouble going in on Thursday.  With all the snow that’s fallen this winter, eight inches is basically nothing.  It also helped that the workplace was fairly close by.

When I left the house around 9:30 the roads weren’t too bad.  I went to the Verizon Wireless store at the mall hoping they could solve this problem I’ve been having with my phone’s browser.  Given the general unhelpfulness I’ve encountered there in the past I had low expectations, though as it turns out the store didn’t open because of the weather.  I then went to the gym, which was surprisingly crowded, and did more of the upper-body work that I’d started a few days earlier.  Yes, still machine-based, as an attempt at bench pressing still bothered my elbow, but I figure that as long as I keep going up in weights the machines should still be useful.

I did as follows: Hoist moveable seat row machine, 4 x 8 at resistance level 16 of 18.  On Monday I used resistance levels of 14 and 15.  Next came the Life Fitness seated incline press, 4 x 8 x 200.  Up 20 pounds from last time.  Finally, I used the Hammer Strength plate-loaded dip machine, 4 x 10 x 270.  On Monday I had gotten to 270 only on the top set.  I was going to do some more work, but I had a late lunch with the family instead.  Sushi, which always hits the spot.

Friday, I “celebrated” Valentine’s Day by working at both jobs.  Not that it was a terrible ordeal, as the regular job went quickly and easily.  It was a busy evening at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, in addition to my regular duties I also did some general customer-assistance work. I’m now reasonably effective at that , as I’ve finally figured out where most things are located.  Most, not all.

Published in: on February 17, 2014 at 3:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/thursday-february-13-friday-february-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

