Thursday, February 20 – Friday, February 21

I’m glad the workweek is over

There’s no doubt that this was a very tough week at my regular job. Monday was a nightmare, Tuesday and Wednesday were easier but still hectic, and then Thursday was in between Monday and Tuesday?Wednesday.  Possibly a bit closer to Monday.  This actually was a good thing, as Thursday’s worksite is usually the worst one on my regular rotation.  Fortunately I didn’t encounter too much traffic coming or going.  That was especially surprising after work, as afternoon traffic in that area tends to be ferocious.  I’m figuring that next week should generally be easier.

I had a pretty nice gym session on Thursday.  More upper-body work, continuing with the same machines that I’ve been using but at higher weights.  Hoist moveable-seat row machine: 5 x 8 at resistance level 17 of 18.  Hammer Strength plate-loaded dip machine: 3 x 10 x 300, 2 x 10 x 270.  Hammer Strength plate-loaded rows: 3 x 8 x 200.  Life Fitness seated incline press: 3 x 8 x 200.  All of these represented increases from last time.

By this point my left elbow probably has healed enough that I can do some free weight work.  Maybe not bench presses, but rows for sure.  Yet something’s holding me back.  This puzzled me at first, but what I believe is going on is the recognition, at some subconscious level, that significant elbow pain would make it hard or even impossible for me to do my jobs, especially the work at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  If I had a desk job it would be a different story.

Speaking of the Major Home Improvement Retailer, I worked a 5-hour shift there on Friday.  It wasn’t as busy as most of my shifts have been.  I took advantage of the lull to review some of the online training materials I had already completed.  Now that I’m more used to how things go, the materials make a lot more sense than they did when I was a newcomer.

Published in: on February 24, 2014 at 2:35 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/thursday-february-20-friday-february-21/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

