Wednesday, April 2 – Thursday, April 3

Dumbbell time

Wednesday and Thursday were reasonably easy days at my primary job.  A new function has been added to the tasks I have to do each day, which means that I have to stay a bit longer than in the past, but I’m hardly about to complain because I still finish up before the “normal” 3:30 quitting time.  As always, I get paid based on staying until 3:30 but can leave earlier if everything’s done.  Not a bad deal.

One thing I didn’t do was work at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  Sunday was my last shift until next Saturday, in fact I’m only getting 10.5 hours this week.  Once again, I can’t really complain, because next week I’ll be getting 28 hours.  Feast or famine.  Exactly how the scheduling works, I don’t know for sure, but it must be a complicated system.

No gym on Wednesday, as I had other things to do after work, but on Thursday I had a chest session.  Not wanting to keep using machines, I decided to give dumbbell bench presses a try.  There’s something about my hand position on a barbell that bothers my elbow.  Using dumbbells avoids that issue because my hands aren’t forced into one fixed position.

As I’m out of practice, I stated very light, with a pair of 60-lb. dumbbells, and did 2 x 10. Then I moved up to 70’s for another 2 x 10, and finished with 75’s at yet another 2 x 10.  Even with the 75’s I had no trouble completing the reps.  What was the hardest part was getting the dumbbells into position.  I expect that with additional practice this will get easier, though it’s always a bit of a challenge.  After the dumbbells I did the Hammer Strength plate-loaded seated dip, 3 x 8 x 320.  I was going to do some overhead presses, but my elbow was getting just a bit sore and I decided not to tempt fate.

 

Published in: on April 5, 2014 at 5:12 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/wednesday-april-2-thursday-april-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Bless you


Leave a Reply

