Thursday, April 17 – Sunday, April 20

More of a vacation that I had anticipated

I’m compressing two weekdays and the weekend into a single entry because they all were pretty much the same.  Originally, I had been scheduled to work at the Major Home Improvement Retailer on Friday night 8 to midnight and then for eight hours on Saturday, 3:30 to midnight.  Imagine my surprise when I got a call on Thursday informing me that my shifts had been cancelled.  Not that I should have been too surprised, as this sort of thing happens occasionally, including to me a couple of times recently.  As part of MHIR policy that had been explained to me back when I was hired, if sales during the first part of the week fall below expectations, work hours on Friday, Saturday and Sunday are subject to reduction. Garden sales account for a major chunk of storewide sales this time of year, and due to bad weather early in the week garden customers were staying away in droves. I can’t say I’m happy about the lost pay, but the situation’s not likely to repeat and I actually needed a few days completely off.

So, did I make productive use of my time off?  Sort of.  We had a nice Easter dinner on Sunday, having gone to Riverhead the day earlier to get pies from Briermere Farms (best pies anywhere!) Earlier on, we went to IHOP on Friday around noon, for the first time in ages, and were pleasantly impressed by the food.  I had the Rooty Tooty Fresh and Fruity combo, and let me tell you it was NOT easy saying that with a straight face.

Oh, and I also had two decent gym sessions.  Friday was for legs, and as my left elbow was a bit sore (dunno why) I decided to skip trap bar deadlifts and squats in favor of machine work.  Yeah, I know.  I used the Hoist moveable-seat leg press machine that I’ve sometimes used in the past: 10 x 330, 10 x 350, 10 x 370, 10 x 390, 10 x 410.  Next came lying leg curls, 3 x 8 x 110. On Sunday, going in the late morning as the gym was closing at 2, I did one-arm dumbbell rows, 7 x 8 x 95/95.  Moving up to the 95’s from the 90’s was no trouble at all.  Normally I would have done four sets followed by three sets on the T-bar row, but a group of three people were taking turns using the T-bar and didn’t look as if they’d be off anytime soon, so I just did three more sets of the one-arm dumbbell rows.  Better exercise, anyway. I also did standing calf machine shrugs, 3 x 10 x 330.

Published in: on April 21, 2014 at 3:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/thursday-april-17-sunday-april-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

