Wednesday, April 30 – Friday, May 2

This rain is costing me money

Going by the weather on Wednesday you’d never think it was almost May.  It rained off and on for much of the day with temperatures not a whole lot above freezing.  Thursday was much warmer but with heavier rain.  Now, under normal circumstances I don’t pay much if any attention to the weather.  It’s cold in the winter, warm in the summer, and in-between in the spring and fall, and sometimes it rains or snows.  The thing is, these aren’t normal circumstances, now that I’m working in the garden center at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  As you might surmise, garden business is highly weather-dependent, meaning that it’s been lower than planned for this week.  It therefore came as no surprise when I got a call early on Thursday canceling my scheduled evening shift.  Bad weather equals less money.

Which isn’t to say that these days were bad ones.  Both Wednesday and Thursday were fairly easy days at my regular job.  I was able to finish before normal quitting time each day, but still got paid for the full shift.  On Wednesday evening I worked at the MHIR, hour-cutting does not occur until Thursdays at the earliest, and it was an interesting shift because I did some tasks I don’t normally do. And on Thursday evening, with work canceled, we went out to dinner at a very good Mexican place, one that serves lethally strong margaritas 🙂

After doing various errands during my day off on Friday, I went to the gym in the early evening for a chest session. It was time to move up to the 95’s for dumbbell bench presses, but after failing to get the weights into position on the first attempt I quickly and somewhat inexplicably lost all enthusiasm for that exercise. Maybe it was because the only free bench was the awkward-to-use adjustable one.  I really can’t say.  Anyway, I did Hammer Strength plate-loaded dips, at a higher weight than I’ve used before: 2 x 8 x 360, 3 x 8 x 380. Then I did machine flies, 8 x 115, 8 x 130, 8 x 145, 8 x 160, 8 x 175.

 

Published in: on May 4, 2014 at 5:15 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/wednesday-april-30-friday-may-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You and I live very close to one another. I’ve been trying to get to P.F. Changs but would appreciate the name of the Mexican place also. I also look forward to your gym reports but I only ever use the treadmill and 16 exercise machines. I’m interested in expanding into the dumbells and such but as of yet don’t know how. I learn about the gym from you.

  2. It’s La Panchita on Main Street in Smithtown. Really really good.
    There are a lot of videos online about using dumbbells, though if you are serious about getting into them it might be worth your while to book a session or two with one of the trainers for some hands-on instructions.


Leave a Reply

