Monday, May 19 – Tuesday, May 20

Days One and Two of Five

I now can say that I’m officially into my week off from my regular job.  A week in which I’m going to try to be reasonably productive rather than just fritter away my time.  Indeed, Monday got off to a decent start, as I took advantage of the nice weather to walk for a while in a nearby park. It was good to be outdoors, I’ll say that.  I even did some housecleaning and other errands.  In the evening, it was off to the Major Home Improvement Retailer for the 8 to midnight shift.  I was scheduled for plant watering for the entire shift, but continuing the theme from yesterday I was able to complete the work in a little over two hours (thanks, learning curve!)

It was pretty quite for the rest of the shift, with only one other person in the garden department and not much cleanup or freight handling to do.  The highlight was moving three heavy pallets of mulch with a manual pallet jack, they were so heavy that one person had to pull on the jack and one had to push.  We got it done, but it wasn’t easy.

No work scheduled on Tuesday, but that doesn’t mean it was an idle day.  What with the weather being really nice I decided to walk along the beach in the late morning.  That was very nice, and even better it was free.  Starting after Memorial Day that latter aspect is definitely going to change.  One thing about Suffolk County, and New York State, is that they’re not content with high taxes, there also have to be high “user fees” for just about everything (grumble).

Later on, I went to the gym for some back work.  With no benches available – as much as I like Unique Fitness they really need a few more benches – it didn’t look as if one-arm dumbbell rows would be feasible. Instead I opted for T-bar rows, and they went well: 5 x 8 x 135.  After I finished them I noted that naturally enough there were benches free, but now it was too late for one-arm dumbbell rows. Wonderful timing! I did shrugs on the standing calf machine, 4 x 10 x 330, and though I had been planning on doing some biceps work I was running short of time and had to get going. That’s not as bad as it sounds, as the reason I was running short of time is that we were going out for sushi to celebrate a family birthday.  We went to Kotobuki Sushi in Hauppague, which is just about the best sushi anywhere … even the tapeworms are tasty.

Published in: on May 21, 2014 at 2:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/05/21/monday-may-19-tuesday-may-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

