Monday, June 23 – Tuesday, June 24

Yes, I made it. Somehow.

Call Monday the proverbial calm before the storm. Or, more specifically, the easy day before the brutal day.  In a last-minute change, I got sent to a different workplace for my regular job, fortunately it was both closer and more organized than the one on the original schedule.  I was there for the full shift, no finishing up early, but that’s mainly because it was the first day of a new 2-week cycle and that’s always a bit complicated.  Learning curves, and all.

In the early evening, I went to the gym to do some bench pressing.  Naturally enough, both flat benches were taken, both by groups so it would be awkward at best to try to work in. Rather than wait, I decided to give the decline bench a try.  It’s been longer than I can remember since I last tried declines, so I started light and worked my way up: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 6 x 205, 3 x 4 x 225. Keep in mind that doing a particular weight on the decline bench is somewhat easier than on the flat bench. By the time I finished my last set at 225 a flat bench had opened up, so I went over to it for some cooldown work: 6 x 185, 10 x 135.  All I can say is that the first rep at 185 was really awkward after having used the decline bench!

Tuesday.  The day I’d been dreading for two weeks, since the Major Home Improvement Retailer’s schedule came out.  I was working  my regular job during the day, of course, but then was scheduled to work 3:30 to midnight at the MHIR, for a total workday of almost 16 hours. I had been quite surprised when I had seen this on my schedule, as I have indicated on the MHIR availability page that I’m not available before 5:30 on Monday through Thursday.  As complaining would have been in bad form, I figured the only alternative was just to deal with it.

My regular job went by fairly well, and it was in a close-by location, so I had about an hour’s break between jobs. This good note continued when I first arrived at the MHIR, as I did about an hour’s computer training and it looked as if the rest of the shift wouldn’t be bad.  If only.  Around 5pm word came out that a Big Boss would be making an inspection tour the next day, with particular attention to the garden department.  This of course necessitated all sorts of cleanup activities, and to make matters worse there weren’t many people scheduled and it was too late to call in any more.

My role in all this?  I was assigned to use a pallet jack to pull all of the fertilizer pallets out of their shelving bays, and then to clean the bays of any spills or other debris.  It was dirty, hot, and backbreaking work, and would have been a challenge even if I hadn’t already worked a full day at another job. Somehow, some way, I was able to summon enough energy  – from reserves I didn’t know I had – to stumble through the shift.  I must say that the bays actually looked quite clean!

 

Published in: on June 27, 2014 at 1:09 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/06/27/monday-june-23-tuesday-june-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The fertilizer work would have been lung-scorching too, no? All that nitrogen – eesh.

  2. Fortunately, most of the spilled fertilizer was wet or encrusted on the floor, so there was very little dust.


Leave a Reply

