Thursday, July 10 – Sunday, July 13

Still dragging

Making it through hot yoga on Wednesday did not mean, unfortunately, that I was physically back at 100%.  Through most of the day on Thursday I was pretty much dragging myself around without much energy. Fortunately, it was a fairly quiet day at my regular job, though I found out that next week is going to be very tough indeed.  Wonderful.  In the evening I worked the 8pm to midnight shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  As shifts go it wasn’t too bad, busy but not hectic.

Friday was a day off from all work.  I did some errands, wasted too much time online (how surprising!), but mostly just goofed off.  No, I didn’t go to the gym.  Right now my enthusiasm is at a low level, but I’m not too concerned because this sort of thing has happened before and I always end up getting re-energized.

Saturday was a more active day.  In the early afternoon I went to the Setauket-Port Jefferson hiking trail, starting from the Setauket end.  My plans were to walk to about the one mile mark and return.  I got to that point and had some newfound energy, so I kept going … and going.  It was fairly hot outside but not intolerable.  When all was said and done, I went to the 2.5-mile mark before turning around.  It would have been only another three-quarters of a mile to the trail’s end, but time was getting short and the eastern end in Port Jefferson is the least interesting part.  I ended up hiking 5 miles in 100 minutes, for a 3mph pace.  Not bad for steep terrain.  Later on Saturday we went to the Sonic drive-in, about 15 miles away in Deer Park, but the line was way too long, so Panera was the substitute.

I didn’t do much during the day on Sunday, it was much too hot to consider any outdoor activities, and at 6:30 I went to the MHIR for a shift lasting until midnight.  I didn’t think it was going to be particularly busy, as there’s no freight on weekends and the garden department isn’t as busy as it had been earlier in the season, but it turned out to be a rather hectic shift indeed as quite a bit of seasonal merchandise had to be moved.  At least it went by quickly.

Published in: on July 15, 2014 at 11:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/thursday-july-10-sunday-july-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

