Thursday, July 17 – Friday, July 18

That’s an early morning

No work on Thursday, but that does not mean it wasn’t an early morning.  In fact it was even earlier than usual.  I left at 5:30 to drive a family member to LaGuardia Airport for an early flight.  Surprisingly, traffic on the Long Island Expressway and Northern State/Grand Central Parkway wasn’t too bad, even though it was past the start of rush hour.  It didn’t take more than about 1:10 to get to the airport.  Why the lack of traffic?  Most likely it was because traffic tends to be lighter than usual in the summer, just like LIRR ridership. Whatever the reason, I’m certainly not complaining.

Getting back from the airport was a bit more complicated, due to a crash on the Expressway near Exit 46 that caused a bit of a backup.  While crawling along I got a phone call informing me that my scheduled 8 to midnight shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer was cancelled.  That’s not an uncommon occurrence, the result I presume of slower-than-expected sales earlier in the week, and even though I appreciate the money I was so physically run-down that I wasn’t too bothered.  I’m still getting over 20 hours for the week.  Once back home I basically just goofed off for the rest of the day, too worn out to do much of consequence.

Friday was another day off, at least this time I had some energy.  In the late morning I walked for about an hour at the Sans Souci County Park in Sayville.  Although the trails in this park are dirt, in contrast to the paved Setauket-Port Jefferson trail, I consider it walking rather than hiking because it’s pretty flat.  Still, it was nice, as was the weather.  Later in the day I actually went to the gym for the first time in too long, I really do intend to get back into the swing of things now that work should be less brutal.  All I did was some bench presses, as time goes on I’ll do more: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 6 x 205, 4 x 225.

Published in: on July 21, 2014 at 2:43 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/07/21/thursday-july-17-friday-july-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

