Monday, July 21 – Wednesday, July 23

My dislike of Verizon Wireless just keeps on growing

How hard is it to build some cell phone towers?  Don’t bother responding, because the answer is “not particularly.” Cell carriers have no trouble providing adequate coverage in most areas. Or so the theory goes.  All three days I was at worksites (the same one Tuesday and Wednesday) that have such poor coverage that my phone went from 100% charge to almost dead over the course of a workday.  That’s completely unacceptable in this day and age, especially as both worksites were in densely populated suburban areas.  I really, really wish my contract with Verizon didn’t have well over a year to go, as I’m sure that other carriers provide better service.  They could scarcely provide worse.

As for work itself, it went reasonably well all three days.  I am now in the second week of the two-week workcycle, and though it’s a very tough cycle I’m now better able to handle it without having to stay late.  Monday I stayed maybe 15 minutes late, while on the other days I left at the usual time.  Wednesday was a bit unusual because I didn’t go to my regularly scheduled site (which, by the way, has excellent cell service), but at the last minute got re-directed to the same site where I’d been the day before.

Monday was my only evening at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, a 6:30 to midnight shift. It was busy, partly because there had been a big freight delivery earlier in the day, and partly because there’s an upcoming inventory.  It takes quite a bit of work to prepare for inventory, as all the materials stored in the overheads require special tagging.  I even spent some time doing freight pack-out in the plumbing department.  Thankfully the store was closed by that time, as I would not have wanted to deal with customer questions, as I wouldn’t have been able to answer any of them!

Tuesday night was another trip to LaGuardia Airport, a pickup this time.  I’d have to say that late-evening traffic was no trouble at all.  And I’ll also say that the Delta Airlines terminal is a pretty barren place. No amenities outside of security except a newsstand, and not even any seats.

Published in: on July 25, 2014 at 9:44 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/07/25/monday-july-21-wednesday-july-23/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

