Thursday, August 28 – Friday, August 29

Excellent yoga and a free arboretum visit, what could be nicer?

Thursday was an easy end to my workweek at my regular job. While I had to go to the physically most distant worksite, about 25 or 30 miles to the east, it went easily as it always does and I was done almost two hours early.  No complaints from me.  Later that evening, I went to the 8pm hot yoga session.  I didn’t really want to go to the one at 6 because it’s a bit more advanced than I prefer.  In any event, I had a terrific session, maybe the best ever.  My balance was decent and I was able to stretch farther than ever before.  It might have been partly physical, but also partly mental, as I was determined to push past my previous limits.  And I did.

On Friday, my day off, I finally got to see the Bayard Cutting Arboretum in Oakdale.  No, I did not swallow my pride and pay the extortionate $8 parking fee that deterred me last week.  What I did instead was park for free at the Great River train station and walk 10 minutes to the arboretum’s entrance.  There is no charge for walk-ins.  I spent the next two hours or thereabouts wandering the beautiful grounds and admiring the trees.  Some of the black oaks are truly magnificent, with amazingly thick trunks and huge spreading crowns.  I also admired the bald cypresses with their root “knees,” they’re not something easily seen in person as the northernmost point of their natural range is hundreds of miles away. All in all, I’d have to say that the most interesting trees were the dawn redwoods, on account of their unusual history.  Known by leaf fossils, they were thought extinct for tens of millions of years, until a few live ones were found in a very remote part of China about 75 years ago.

I didn’t do much for the rest of Friday, I was a bit too sore from yoga to go to the gym, but a leisurely day was fine, especially as I’d be working all day on both Saturday and Sunday at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.

Published in: on September 1, 2014 at 2:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/thursday-august-28-friday-august-29/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

