Saturday, August 30 – Monday, September 1

I almost melted

Saturday and Sunday may have been part of the holiday weekend, but they also were full workdays for me.  I spent eight hours at the Major Home Improvement Retailer each day, 8:30 to 5 on Saturday and 8 to 4:30 on Sunday.  Of course each shift felt about 24 hours long instead of eight.  That’s because it was unusually hot and humid both days, and unlike almost all other employees on duty I didn’t get to spend my time in the beautifully air conditioned store building.  Instead, I spent most of my shifts in the non-air conditioned outdoor garden center, or around the side of the building handling propane exchanges.  With Monday being Labor Day with its traditional cookouts, there were a lot of propane exchanges.  To make matters worse, for the last two hours of my shift on Saturday and the first hour or so on Sunday, I was stuck with an absolutely backbreaking task of sorting through shingle bundles.  I probably ended up lifting and carrying 45 to 50 bundles, each of which weights 70 pounds.  It was such a hot, exhausting task that I wasn’t able to get to the gym after work on Saturday.

On Monday, I had to get up very early to drive into Queens to help with a move.  While having to get up at dawn on a holiday wasn’t my idea of fun, I got to drive on nearly empty roads.  That was a pleasure, and a rare pleasure to boot.  Later during the day I did quite a variety of things.

Published in: on September 3, 2014 at 8:38 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/saturday-august-30-monday-september-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site
    to come back down the road. Many thanks


Leave a Reply

