Saturday, September 20 – Sunday, September 21

Another weekend that wasn’t, as I worked both days at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  Actually I shouldn’t complain too much, as neither day was that bad: I worked six hours on Saturday and four on Sunday, which scarcely makes for a brutal day (that’ll come next weekend with two eight-hour days).  Plus, there’s always the money.  Which always is nice.

What wasn’t so nice is that the troublesome transmission on my Subaru seems to have conked out for good.  It makes a loud screeching sound while driving and emits an acrid burning smell.  With over 165,000 miles on the car it hardly seems worth repairing, especially as there are other things that will require work soon enough.  In another couple of weeks I will fly down to Florida to pick up my mother’s Toyota, which has very low mileage and is in excellent shape, and she will buy a new one. I’ll then drive it back.  Lots of driving, but I haven’t done that much in a couple years so it should be okay.

What I’ll do with my Subaru remains to be seen.  In the meantime, I got a rental from Budget, weekly rates are quite reasonable.  I had reserved an economy model, but because none were available when I went to pick it up on Sunday I got a free upgrade to a Dodge Charger.  It’s quite luxurious, and has a really cool keyless start, though its size is taking a bit getting used to.

Published in: on September 25, 2014 at 6:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/09/25/saturday-september-20-sunday-september-21/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

