Thursday, September 25 – Friday, September 26

Reverse rush hour

Thursday started bright and early with the trek out to my most-distant worksite, about 30 miles to the east.  It wasn’t a bad trip on the Sunrise Highway and the Dodge Charger rental made for a smooth ride. I’d have to say that the Charger isn’t the sort of vehicle I’d want to own, its luxurious touches notwithstanding, as I don’t particularly like its low roof line and somewhat limited visibility.  But it won’t matter soon. As for my workday, it went very well, nothing whatsoever like Tuesday’s disaster.  I was done soon enough, and was able to goof off for a while before going into a 7 to 11 shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  It was a decent shift, not among my better or my worst, consisting mainly of freight pack-out.

Friday was my day off, and I took advantage of that fact by doing as little as possible.  I briefly entertained thoughts of going to the gym (if I can remember how to get there, it’s been so long), but I was still somewhat achy from the workweek.  In the late afternoon I drove into Queens, and all I can say is that traffic on both the Long Island Expressway and the Northern State Parkway was much heavier than I would have expected considering it was against the main flow of rush hour traffic.  We’re talking lengthy stretches of stop-and-go traffic.  A drive that takes under an hour in light traffic ended up taking about twice that long.  Fortunately, the return trip was a lot easier.

Published in: on October 1, 2014 at 3:29 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/thursday-september-25-friday-september-26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

