Monday, September 29 – Wednesday, October 1

In the second-week groove

Monday marked the beginning of the second week of the two-week workcycle at my main job, and as always things were easier than they were in the first week.  I was at the point where I was able to do most of the tasks almost by rote, even if the ones each day were slightly different than those the day before.  One thing I found out is that the next cycle is going to be another tough one, on par with the brutal one of a couple cycles ago. I will, however, be missing three days of it, for my flight to Florida and drive back.

On Monday I worked at the Major Home Improvement Retailer from 7 to 11.  It was, alas, one of my worse shifts. Not because of anything the company did, but because for some odd reason there seemed to be an unusual number of rude and/or difficult customers.  Which fell into different types: (a) confused-seeming customers who react with annoyance (“I’m good, Buddy”) when I ask if they need help; (b) customers who interrupt me when I’m in the middle of talking with other customers; (c) customers who seek help while lacking even the most basic information (“What chain do I need for my chainsaw?” “What size is the chain and how many drive links does it have?” “I don’t know”); and, finally (d) people who are just plain weird. But hey, it’s all in a day’s (or evening’s) work, right?

Tuesday and Wednesday were pretty much nothing days: easy enough at my main job, no shifts at the MHIR, that sort of thing. What with all my recent laziness I actually had plans to go to hot yoga on Wednesday evening, but other things intervened.  Thursday, definitely.

Published in: on October 3, 2014 at 1:13 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/monday-september-29-wednesday-october-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

