Monday, November 17 – Tuesday, November 18

Divided session

Monday marked the beginning of the second to last work cycle of the year in my main job. After this week I’ll be off for the week of Thanksgiving, then back for a week to complete the cycle, and then there will be one week of cleaning up any unfinished tasks. Thursday, December 11 will be my last day until after the first of the year. Of course I’m not getting paid during the three weeks off, though I knew about this all along and in any event I should be getting quite a few hours at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.

Whatever the case, this cycle is going to be very easy. I was done by noon on Monday even though it was the start of the cycle and was at a worksite that’s usually among my more difficult.  Tuesday was even easier, and I was finished before 11. Of course in each case I had to find miscellaneous chores to occupy myself,  as I can’t leave before 1.

On Monday evening I went to the gym for what I planned would be a lengthy session. I did some bench presses: 6 × 135, 6 × 165, 6 × 185, 6 × 205, 2 × 4 × 225.  Right after the second set at 225, as I was about to start a cooldown set at 185, I got a telephone call that lasted about 20 minutes. By the time I was done my muscles had tightened up and I knew it would be inadvisable to continue.

But I wasn’t about to be stopped for long. I returned to the gym late on Tuesday afternoon and finished my upper body work. First came overhead presses: 8 × 80, 4 × 8 × 90. I then did something easier, namely cable pushdowns,  5 x 8 × 50. To finish the session I did some dips, for the first time in forever, 4 × 6 × body weight.  In addition to the weights, I also ellipted for 20 minutes.

Published in: on November 21, 2014 at 1:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/11/21/monday-november-17-tuesday-november-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

