Saturday, November 15 – Sunday, November 16

More than a week away from Thanksgiving, yet the Christmas trees have arrived at the Major Home Improvement Retailer.  The first of multiple loads, at least. As this load had arrived when I wasn’t working I was lucky enough to avoid the famously unpleasant task of unloading the trees.  Next time I won’t be so lucky.

When I arrived for my 1 to 10 shift on Saturday I found out that a few customers had already bought trees. From the selling perspective a tree sale is somewhat complicated.  An employee has to cut an inch or two off the bottom with a chainsaw, wrap it in mesh, and in many cases tie it down onto the customer’s vehicle. I’ve watched an instructional video but have never done the work myself. Just to be safe,  I asked another garden department employee if I could watch her handle a tree if we sold one. She gave me a look of disdain and said “Women don’t handle trees.” Alrighty then.

As it turns out, there were no further tree sales during my shift, though customers were buying plenty of other things.  Those large inflatable yard decorations were selling at quite a clip, e en though they’re surprisingly expensive.

Sunday’s shift ran from 8:30 to 4:00. Near the start of my shift I explained my tree handling concerns to another employee, and he said that if we made a tree sale he’d be glad to demonstrate the process to me. Around noon I heard a PA announcement summoning me to the tree lot. That’s the good news. The bad news is that I was in the middle of assisting a customer with a snowblower,  and by the time I made it to the tree lot the employee who had made the offer was just finishing with loading the tree on the customer’s car. Naturally enough there were no more tree sales during my shift. Oh, and to add insult to injury, the customer I had been assisting didn’t buy the snowblower.

Published in: on November 21, 2014 at 12:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/11/21/saturday-november-15-sunday-november-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

