Saturday, November 22 – Sunday, November 23

This weekend was a change from my usual weekend routine. I worked on Saturday at the Major Home Improvement Retailer as usual, but for the first time in several weeks I did not work on Sunday. It was hard to figure out what to do with myself!

Saturday’s shift was from 10 to 6:30, which I’d say is one of the better weekend schedules. No need to get up early, and finished at a reasonable hour. What with Thanksgiving approaching the store was busy for most of my shift. I alternated between moving and setting up seasonal displays, and assisting customers. Maybe it was the split nature of my duties, but the shift went by quickly.

My experience in the Christmas tree lot was the one discordant note. All throughout the shift I’d been hoping that I’d finally get the chance to handle a tree. Finally, about 15 minutes before the end of my shift a couple bought a tree. With a mixture of trepidation and confidence I took out the chainsaw to trim the bottom of the trunk …. and couldn’t get it started. The customers, who were clearly getting impatient with my bumbling, finally took the un-trimmed tree. It was embarrassing, and only became worse when I took a second look at the chainsaw after they left and realized that all I had needed to do was press a safety switch. I was very angry with myself, the only small consolation being that it was the first time in my life I had ever handled a chainsaw.

Sunday was a fairly lazy day, as I tried to get accustomed to having it off. I made an early afternoon trip to the gym and did some back work. Barbell rows: 3 × 8 × 185. T-bar rows: 3 × 8 × 115. Standing calf machine shrugs: 4 × 10 × 330. Later in the evening we went to Smokey Bones BBQ for burgers, which were very good.

Published in: on November 26, 2014 at 3:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/11/26/saturday-november-22-sunday-november-23/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

