Monday, December 1 – Wednesday, December 3

I forgot how tough it is

Monday was a fairly easy day at my regular job. This was slightly surprising, as it was at one of the busier worksites, but it was one of those days when everything seemed to fall into place. Funny how those things happen. During the day I found out that there was another managerial opening, one that the company has been having some trouble trying to fill. I got the impression that it would pretty much be mine if I wanted it. After some consideration I decided against applying. The pay would be very close to what I’m now making if I do a typical 16-hour week at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, and while I would be working fewer hours each week to make the same amount I also would have to drive into central Nassau each day. It would be combined wwithy hard if not impossible for me to keep working at the MHIR, which would not be desirable as I sort of like the place, and in any event I dislike keeping all my eggs in one basket.

Speaking of the MHIR, I was there for four hours on Monday evening, and it was tough. Constant work in the tree lot combined with down stocking products, assisting customers, reshelving returns, you name it.  I even did some online training. The four hours left me pretty well beat out and with throbbing feet.

Tuesday was somewhat more complicated at my regular job, lots of minor issues, though Wednesday was a comparative breeze. On Wednesday I formally turned down the managerial opening, letting my current manager know I wouldn’t be applying. I do not regret this decision.

Wednesday at 6pm I went to hot yoga for the first time in too long. As my feet were still sore I took aspirin before going. It was tough, very very tough, though somehow I made it through. The instructor was someone I’ve never had before, pleasant but very hardcore. Unlike the others she called zero breaks during the entire 90 minute session. After her, the other instructors should be a breeze!

Published in: on December 5, 2014 at 8:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2014/12/05/monday-december-1-wednesday-december-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

