Thursday, February 19 – Sunday, February 22

Made it through the wringer

After the exhausting start to the week, Thursday was actually a fairly easy day at my main job. I was able to take my normal breaks and still finish by the usual quitting time. In part it was because the volume of work was a bit less overwhelming and in part it was because I was adapting to the workflow. One more week and I will be back to a more typical volume. It looks as if the volume of work in the next cycle, while fairly heavy, is nothing like the monstrous present cycle. I sure hope so!

One nice thing is that I actually had two days off in a row, both Friday and Saturday. Those evening shifts at the Major Home Improvement Retailer earlier in the week may have been brutal at the time, but they meant that even with Saturday off I still got my usual 16 hours for the week. While I didn’t do too much on Friday, I had a decent gym session in the late afternoon, getting back to my old favorites.  Neutral grip pull-ups: 3 × 4, 6 × 3. Not bad, a total of 30.  Dips: 3 × 8 × bodyweight.  Life Fitness shoulder presses : 3 × 8 × 100/100.

Saturday was mostly a leisurely day … until 4:30 pm. Boy, did it ever change then. My stepdaughter and I went to hot yoga, though not at the usual studio. We unrolled our mats and sat silently for a while, the usual way of getting accustomed to the 100 degree heat. The studio was filling up, apparently this is a popular center. The instructor entered, welcomed everyone, introduced herself,  and then to our GREAT surprise announced that this was a Vinyasa session, namely a very fast paced session aimed at expert practitioners. Needless to say I have never participated in Vinyasa before.  Somehow, I made it through more or less in one piece, though it was very, very brutal. At least I did it, painful as it was, and that’s what counts.

Sunday was a 1:30 to 8 shift at the MHIR. It wasn’t too bad, mostly waiting on customers. Given what I’d been through at yoga I was very thankful there was hardly any heavy lifting involved!

Published in: on February 25, 2015 at 4:28 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/thursday-february-19-sunday-february-22/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

